Regionalizacja tektoniczna Polski — Polska południowo-zachodnia

Andrzej Żelaźniewicz, Paweł Aleksandrowski


Tectonic subdivision of Poland: southwestern Poland.
A b s t r a c t . Geologically, southwestern Poland is located between the Upper Elbe Fault Zone on the SW and the Dolsk Fault Zone on the NE. It comprises two major crustal blocks: the Lower vSilesian Block and the South Wielkopolska Block separated by the narrow Middle Odra Horst. The Lower Silesian Block is principally subdivided into the Fore-Sudetic Block and the Sudetic Block. These blocks are further subdivided into several smaller tectonic units. Their boundaries and main features are briefly characterized. It is proposed here to initiate a discussion on internally coherent tectonic subdivision of the region, principles of such subdivision and due revision of the hitherto used terminology. The discerned tectonic units generally do not coincide with physiogeographic subdivision, thus it is not recommended to confuse the geographic and geologic regionalization.

Full Text: